IKEA? You bet!

When I was a recent college graduate and living in my first apartment by myself, I thought nothing could beat IKEA.  I spent hours scouring the catalogue and couldn’t wait to bring that lime green corduroy futon sofa home with me.  As time went on I moved from apartment to apartment and the IKEA furniture came with me.  Much of it got updated from place to place with paint or new “upholstery”, but in the back of my mind I knew that IKEA furniture didn’t belong in a “grown-up” home.  At some point I would say goodbye to IKEA, and my twenties, forever.

Now I live in a “grown-up” home.  I did say goodbye to that futon sofa, but I’ve discovered that some IKEA items absolutely belong here!  And the funny thing is, it feels like my little secret.  Who would guess that side table, those bookshelves or those chairs are from IKEA?  Unless you are a twenty-something version of myself (who had the catalogue memorized), you wouldn’t.

Now, let’s talk about drapes.  If you have perused the drapery section of the Restoration Hardware catalogue recently, you may have noticed how ridiculously expensive drapes can be!  If you have perused the drapery section of the IKEA catalogue recently, you may have noticed how awesomely affordable drapes can be!..especially when you have as many windows as we do.  My go-to drape is the white cotton grommet top style from…yup, you guessed it, IKEA.  I have them hanging over just about every window in the house.

I lucked out with drapery rods because IKEA drapery rods are not ideal.  The previous owners left really nice Restoration Hardware rods behind, so naturally I put them to use.  I’m a firm believer in the power of drapes, and what they can do for a window and room.  In our case, I wanted to use them to make our windows look bigger and our ceilings look higher.  By re-positioning the rods an inch below the ceiling and extending the rods far beyond the edge of the windows, we got both larger windows and dramatically higher ceilings.

Check out the before and afters…

LIVING ROOM:

(The previous owner used this room as a dining room, but look at the drapes)

(We use it as our living room, but look at the drapes)

BEDROOM:

The previous owner hung drapes at just the size of the window.

 

 

I  moved the rod up to the ceiling and extended it a foot or two on each side of the window.

Tune in next time for a walk through our balcony garden.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home Decor, Home Improvement Projects, Weekend Decorator

Leave a Reply

