Adventures in Wallpapering

During the 80s and early 90s I recall that wallpaper was the go-to wall treatment for many homes.   In addition to the Laura Ashley floral explosions, there was a lot of teddy bears, Mallard ducks and baseball gear.  My first wallpaper memories start with the Strawberry Shortcake border lining the top of my pink bedrooms walls.  Once I grew out of my Strawberry Shortcake phase (not soon enough), I remember poring over books upon books of wallpaper samples with my mom at the local paint store.  Every year or two we would map out the next iteration of my bedroom décor, and it always seemed to start with wallpaper.

I come from a family of talented DIYers, which means my mom was the one who hung the wallpaper in our house.  The outcome was always tasteful and perfectly hung wallpaper, however, the execution was not necessarily a joyous occasion.  There was usually a lot of cursing involved.  There was also the time she sliced through a tendon in her finger while trimming wallpaper with an X-acto knife!  Needless to say, I entered into my first wallpapering project with great trepidation.

After about a twenty-year hiatus, wallpaper is the trend in wall treatments again.  But I think it’s back better than ever.  The graphic patterns and edgy images that you can paste onto your walls now, are really awesome.  (no ducks or baseballs!) The problem I have with the new trend, though, is that trends fade and wallpaper is a b*tch to remove.  So, I decided that wallpapering the inside of our bookshelves (they’re from IKEA by the way) would be a great way to indulge in the current trend in a non-committal sort of way.

I spotted our wallpaper years ago in an Anthropologie catalogue.  The wallpaper wasn’t for sale, it was just in the background of one of the sets.  But I HAD to find that wallpaper!  I finally tracked it down at Walnut Wallpaper http://www.walnutwallpaper.com.  (Yes, I have looked at every wallpaper style on that website at least twice and have an embarrassingly large stack of their samples.)

Here it is,  the wallpaper:

Here are some instructions from Design*Sponge:  http://www.designsponge.com/2008/03/before-and-after-ambers-bookshelves.html

And here is my wallpaper project:

BEFORE

AFTER

 I happily made it through this project without cursing, and with all of my fingers intact.  But I will tell you, it was challenging enough to know that when/if I decide to wallpaper our powder room, I’m hiring a professional!

Tune in next time for A Decorator’s Guide to the Galaxy…

4 Comments

Filed under Home Decor, Home Improvement Projects, Storage Solutions, Weekend Decorator

4 responses to “Adventures in Wallpapering

  1. Holy heavens!!
    It is super stunning
    GREAT work!!!
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. Candace

    Cool wallpaper. Where did the antlers come from? What’s the poster/painting (?) that’s hanging in front of the shelves on the left?

    • Those antlers are from Dad! He was willing to part with some of his less impressive racks. I mounted them with some antler kits from Cabela’s. The poster is a print I found online after seeing it on the cover of a magazine a few years ago. I’m not totally sold on it, but Husband likes it.

  3. Jennifer Tong

    Uh, yeah. I helped my Mom wallpaper many rooms, including the girls room… White background with little vertical vines of roses. Good lord. Anyway, it was WORK! I love the effect of the paper in your bookshelves! Good job! I am going to wall paper our mudroom… when it get built. in the future. When i do, I will look to you for guidance!

Leave a Reply

