Thanksgiving at Home

Husband and I traveled north to my parents’ house to celebrate Thanksgiving this weekend. I think I’m still sideways from the 500 mile drive…and all those calories. Cassius is still recovering, too. He’s about to embark on his 24th hour of continuous sleep.

One of the best parts about spending a holiday at my parents’ house is I get to see my mom’s, always amazing, decorations. I’m convinced that my love of decorating is a genetic code written directly into my DNA by my mom. Forever I will wish that I had photos of all my mom’s holiday decorations…and trust me, no holiday was ever decorated the same way.

Sadly, now that her kids are out of the house and living hundreds of miles away, decorating for the holidays just isn’t the same for my mom. But no matter what, Thanksgiving would not be Thanksgiving without a proper dining table. So here is just a little something she threw together for our Turkey Day dinner this year. Check it out!

Voila!

Hand made by my mom…ribbon, maple leaves, a dried pomegranate and a glue gun.

My dad made that antler candelabra for my mom. He found and gathered all those naturally shed deer antlers.

The chandelier above the table was designed and decorated by my mom, and built and installed by my dad. What a team!

We have a lot to be thankful for this year, and felt fortunate to spend the weekend with family and friends. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday as well.

Tune in next time…I’ve got some fun stuff lined up!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thanksgiving at Home

  1. lee Warner

    Thank you Marjorie… Your comments were so sweet they made me cry. I love you truly, MOM

  2. Danica

    She just “threw” that together??? I can’t imagine what it looks like when she goes all out.

    The apple definitely doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Leave a Reply

